Polka Dot Cupcakes

Since I saw this polka dot cake at Sugar and Spice and All Things Iced, I've been wanting to try some polka dot cupcakes.  We even have the perfect book to go with them!  

Put Me in the Zoo is a classic about a polka dotted animal who can do amazing things with his spots like changing the colors and even juggling them! The rhymes in this book are perfect for fans of Dr. Suess.
For the cupcakes, I started with old family recipes from Uncle Duncan and Grandma Betty:
I made some cake balls from a cooked and cooled white cake mixed with a can of frosting.  Then I tinted the mixture pink and formed small balls.
I dropped four or five balls into each chocolate cupcake before I baked them.
As you can see, my polka dots weren't perfectly round.  I put too much frosting into the cake balls and they were difficult to work with, but nobody seemed to mind.  We topped them with some more polka dots (M&Ms).

Linking to The Girl Creative,  
A Round Tuit 
Homemaker on a Dime
Destination: Craft 
Ginger Snap Crafts 
Shine On Fridays 
Six Sisters' Stuff
Pin It!

9 comments:

  1. "Press Here" would also go well with these cupcakes!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes! This are perfect for the upcoming Dr.Seuss birthday! Love Uncle Duncan and Grandma Betty's family recipes too :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. How adorable and they look delicious as well! Are there any left?

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a neat idea! I'll have to try that sometime - the cakes look so cute!


    Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!
    Hope you have a fabulous week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success
    http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  5. I pinned this on Pinterest. Thank you for joining Creative Bloggers Party and Hop :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yummy! I would love for you to stop by my Linky Party via: ourdelightfulhome.blogspot.com.

    Mrs. Delightful
    ourdelightfulhome.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. These are awesome! So clever!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Stopping by from the Girl Creative Blog Hop! http://queenofsavings.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. These are so creative and cute for Dr. Seuss Day, or any day!! YUM! We loved having you link up to "Strut Your Stuff Saturday." We hope to have you back again soon!! -The Sisters

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment!